Lucky in a way

23 Feb

I was sad a few weeks ago as I prepared to leave Brooklyn for Hamilton for a month.

Now its coming into my last week in Hamilton and as I see old friends, I’m sad again to go.

Just like the child who cries when leaving for camp, and is crying coming back.

I wondered tonight if this lonely feeling is sustainable. But on the other side of feeling sorry for myself, is the fact that the painful feeling of missing people and places can be a blessing; a reminder not to take people or good memories for granted.

When you feel like you don’t want to leave, wherever you are, it’s lucky in a way.

Whutchu sayin'

