After the final no

22 Oct

http://www.guardian.co.uk/theguardian/2008/apr/05/climatechange.usa

It’s an old article, from 2008 (I always find it a bit funny to hear professors say that, when the year doesn’t really feel that old to me), where Jeffrey Sachs talks about negativity standing in the way of solving global problems.

Yesterday Frond asked me what drives me.  I said it was the feeling that if something isn’t done, nothing will be done.  In my experience, the most common and most frustrating problem to run into when trying to solve any problem (or keeping a good thing going) is defeatism.  So I suppose I just feel like I’m just trying to keep things a balanced.

And then he offers a quote by poet Wallace Stevens: “After the final no there comes a yes / And on that yes the future world depends.”

Chins up!

2 Responses to “After the final no”

  1. mon January 20, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    You’re AWESOME Steph!! You are a prime example of being the change you want to see!

    • Sunny January 20, 2012 at 9:59 am #

      aw man thanks monica!

Whutchu sayin'

